Zaftigs, Brookline

A la Hennifer:

RESTAURANT RATING
Time:
Menu Options:
GF Labelled?:
Food Quality:
Server Knowledge: ✔ (saved me from being a newbie)
TOTAL RATING: 4

Hi everyone, it’s Jen here. After Friday’s debacle, I began the weekend with a renewed determination.  Immediately tried when my company decided to throw me a curve ball by not providing lunch meats (as they have for the last 4 consecutive weekends).  Why am I telling you this you may wonder, and at this point, I’m right there with you…the reason is this; I was faced with the temptation of a juicy burger atop a marvelous egg bun, or forage for myself at the local diner.

I chose Zaftigs, which some of you may have heard about.  They serve breakfast all day and generally had great food. Which again was an opening for a slip-up, because I LOVE breakfast sandwiches, but instead I ordered an omelet and said no to the side of toast because I’m gluten-free.  At this point, the waitress informed me that the hashbrowns were not gluten-free because they were cooked in the same oil as other non-gluten free dishes.  This really stood out to me, because I didn’t insist on no gluten on my plate there was not awkward conversation or strange looks, just boom can’t have the hash browns, but the waitress went a (what I consider) a step further and told me, I could have some gluten-free toast. Again not something that I inquired about but they were obviously ready and happy to help me enjoy my meal with as little hassle or to do as possible.  Overall I give the experience a 4, only because I didn’t see any markings on the regular menu, stating what was or wasn’t gluten-free. As a newbie on the GF scene, I wouldn’t have even thought of hashbrown not being gluten-free. Other than the menu the service and knowledge was great.

Leave a comment